Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases
RD Plasma » GEC 2016 » GEC 2016
Klaus Bartschat

Klaus Bartschat
Drake University

"For fundamental theoretical and computational contributions to the understanding of charged-particle and photon collisions with atoms and molecules and for providing critical data and insight to the plasma modeling community."

2016 Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases Recipient: Klaus Bartschat


Klaus Bartschat received the Diploma in Experimental Physics in 1981, a Ph.D. in Theoretical Physics in 1984, and the Habilitation for Physics in 1989 from from the University of Münster (Germany). In 1988, he joined the faculty of Drake University, where he currently holds the chair of Ellis & Nelle Levitt Distinguished Professor of Physics. He has been a Visiting Fellow of JILA at the University of Colorado in Boulder, enjoyed several long-term visits at the Institute for Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics at the Harvard Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, and held a Mercator Professorship at the University of Münster as well as Adjunct Professorships at several Universities in Australia. His research focuses on charged-particle collisions with atoms and ions as well as short-pulse intense laser-matter interactions. Bartschat became a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 1999 and was recognized among the inaugural group of Outstanding Referees for the APS journals in 2008.

Selection Committee:
James Lawler (Chair), Gregory Hebner, David Graves, James Colgan, Morty Khakoo

Will Allis Prize

The prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. An allowance will be provided for travel expenses of the recipient to the meeting of the Society at which the prize is bestowed. The prize is awarded in even-numbered years.

Establishment & Support

The prize was established in 1989 by contributions from American Telephone and Telegraph, General Electric, General Telephone and Electronics, International Business Machines, and Xerox Corporations in recognition of the outstanding contributions of Will Allis to the study of ionized gases.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations are open to scientists of all nations regardless of the geographical location at which the work was done. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but the prize may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. Nominations are active for three years.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Friday, June 30, 2017

The nomination package must include:

A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

in addition, the nomination should include:
A biographical sketch.
A list of the most important publications.
At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
Up to five reprints or preprints.

There may be additional requirements for particular prizes and awards. Please read the rules carefully.

To complete a nomination click here for the electronic submission form. All files should be uploaded in PDF format. Letters can be signed electronically (for example, using an embedded facsimile) or physically. In the latter case, they should be digitally scanned. Filenames should include the name of the nominee.

For updating an existing nomination, please click the above link and log into the form using the email address and password you used to create your nominator account.

Selection Committee Members: James Lawler (Chair), Gregory Hebner, David Graves, James Colgan, Morty Khakoo

Nomination Guidelines

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

Please check https://www.aps.org/programs/honors/prizes/allis.cfm for further details.

Foundation Talk by Zoltan Donko

The Will Allis Prize Talk has been postponed to the 70th GEC 2017 in Pittsburgh, because the recipient, Klaus Bartschat, is unable to attend this year's conference.
The Foundation Talk, regularly scheduled for 2017, is now moved to this year and will be given by Dr. Zoltan Donko, Wigner Research Center for Physics, Hungary.

Foundation Talk 2016